2019 Forest of Reading Nominees Announced


The Forest of Reading® is Canada's largest recreational reading program! This initiative of the Ontario Library Association (OLA) offers seven reading programs to encourage a love of reading in people of all ages. The Forest helps celebrate Canadian books, publishers, authors and illustrators. More than 270,000 readers participate annually from their School and/or Public Library. All Canadians are invited to participate via their local public library, school library, or individually.

Of the books that we represent, we are pleased to announce that the following have received nominations:

  • Where Oliver Fits by Cale Atkinson, published by Tundra Books (Blue Spruce Award)

  • The Magician’s Secret by Zachary Hyman and illustrated by Joe Bluhm, published by Tundra Books (Blue Spruce Award)

  • Innovation Nation by David Johnston and Tom Jenkins, published by Tundra Books (Red Maple Award)

  • The Agony of Bun O’Keefe by Heather T. Smith, published by Penguin Teen (White Pine Award)

Multiple Award Wins for The Marrow Thieves


Cherie Dimaline’s The Marrow Thieves—of which there are now 100,000 copies in print in North America!—has been racking up (well-deserved) awards:

  • Winner, 2017 Kirkus Prize (Young Readers' Literature)

  • Winner, 2017 Governor General's Literary Award (Young People's Literature - Text)

  • Winner, 2018 Sunburst Award for Excellence in Canadian Literature of the Fantastic

  • Finalist, 2018 Forest of Reading - White Pine Awards

  • Finalist, 2018 Trillium Book Award

  • Finalist, 2018 Amy Mathers Teen Book Award

  • Shortlisted, 2018 CBC Canada Reads

  • Shortlisted, 2018 Ruth and Sylvia Schwartz Children's Book Award

  • Longlisted, 2018 Burt Award for First Nations, Inuit and Métis Young Adult Literature

Congratulations, Cherie!

A Pattern for Pepper Wins Elizabeth Mrazik-Cleaver Canadian Picture Book Award


The International Board on Books for Young People (IBBY), Canadian section, has named A Pattern for Pepper the winner of the 2018 Elizabeth Mrazik-Cleaver Canadian Picture Book Award. The gorgeous picture book is written and illustrated by Julie Kraulis and published with Tundra Books in August 2017. The IBBY jury called A Pattern for Pepper "a delicate and delightful confection," and said that this story of a girl and her mother visiting a tailor shop to choose the right fabric for a dress, "original" and "endearing." The award, which was established in 1985, comes with a $1,000 prize. Congratulations, Julie!

Vikki VanSickle's The Winnowing a Red Maple Award Nominee


Congratulations are in order for Vikki VanSickle, whose gripping YA novel, The Winnowing (published by Scholastic Canada), has been nominated for an Ontario Library Association Red Maple Award! This page-turning adventure explores love and loss, and sold over 16,000 copies in the first three months of its publication. The winner of the award will be announced on June 7, 2018, so stay tuned!

Susin Nielsen's Optimists Die First Nominated for White Pine Award


Congratulations to Susin Nielsen! The acclaimed author's most recent YA book, Optimists Die First, has been nominated for an Ontario Library Association White Pine Award. The novel, which published with Tundra Books in February 2017, received starred reviews from The School Library Journal and Kirkus Reviews. The White Pine winner will be announced June 7, 2018.

2018 RBC Taylor Prize Longlist

2018 RBC Taylor Prize Longlist

The Charles Taylor foundation has revealed the longlist for the 2018 RBC Taylor Prize, which celebrates excellence in literary non-fiction. We are thrilled to find three Cooke International titles on the list: Mohamed Fahmy's THE MARRIOTT CELL (Random House Canada), Michael Harris's SOLITUDE (Doubleday Canada), and James Maskalyk's LIFE ON THE GROUND FLOOR (Doubleday Canada). 

Read More